Saturday, August 6, 2011

TPF 10 Results and Leftovers: Sherdog Hypnotizes Fans, McCall and Yagin New Champions

If you were among the many who tuned into the TPF live stream on last night, you will probably experience severe headaches and other symptoms associated with psychological trauma. I am convinced that what we thought was a buffering wheel, spinning in the center of the screen, off and on for considerably long portions of the event, was really a hypnotic tool designed by the Sherdog staff.

The hypnotic wheel was Sherdog's latest effort to make international MMA fans out of the prevalent Zuffa Zombies who's outlook on the sport is limited to the UFC and Strikeforce (in case you didn't know, Dana White hates Sherdog -- forreal, forreal). Of course, the hypnosis didn't work for me. Being as though I am already an established, highly educated international fight fan, I was immune to the forced neuro-therapy. If only there were collegiate degrees for watching MMA, drinking beer, and farting...

Nonetheless, I applaud Sherdog for bringing the usual, excellent non-Zuffa MMA coverage.

Moving on and moving forward...

TPF 10 presented a smashing card last night. The event got off to a late start, but once things got rolling, it was all uphill. Of the nine bouts on the card, only two went the distance.

Antonio McKee student Musa Toliver opened the event, defeating Andy Miranda by way of decision. Former TPF Flyweight Champion Ulysses Gomez returned to bantamweight action to face Drew Bittner. Gomez wrapped Bittner in a rear naked choke for a first round submission.

Givanildo Santan made good in his TPF debut, capturing a submission victory over former WEC Light Heavyweight Champion Doug Marshall. Meanwhile, Mamoru Yamaguchi and Jussier da Silva represented TPF's flyweight tradition in a battle of ranked 125lbers. Da Silva pressed Yamaguchi with takedowns en route to a decisive unanimous decision over Yamaguchi.

In the co-main event, Eddie Yagin scored a huge upset over Joe Soto to take home the previously vacant TPF Featherweight Title. Yagin secured a first round guillotine choke in the victory, setting up a possible title defense against former TPF Featherweight titlist, Isaac DeJesus in November.

The main event pitted highly ranked flyweights Darrell Montague and Ian McCall in a 125 lb. title affair. McCall, the challenger, blended cage control, efficient striking, and takedowns into the second round when he secured a rear-naked choke to draw the tap at 2:15. The win brings McCalls win streak to four.


Tachi Palace Fights
TPF 10: "Let the Chips Fall"
August 5, 2011
Tachi Palace Casino
Lemoore, California

TPC flyweight title fight- Ian McCall def. Darrell Montague via submission (rear-naked choke) R3 (2:15)
TPC featherweight title fight- Eddie Yagin def. Joe Soto via submission (guillotine choke) R1 (2:00)
Jussier da Silva def. Mamoru Yamaguchi via unanimous decision
Giva Santana def. Doug Marshall via submission (rear-naked choke) R1 (:29)
Jorge Lopez def. David Marshall via TKO (retirement) R2 (5:00)
Ulysses Gomez def. Drew Bittner via submission (rear-naked choke) R2 (1:21)
Kenny Ento def. Phil Collins via TKO (punches) R1 (1:46)
Brad McDonald def. Sergio Quinones via submission (armbar) R1 (3:37)
Musa Toliver def. Andy Miranda via unanimous decision

No comments:

Post a Comment