Sunday, July 17, 2011

Around the Pro Circuit: 7/15-7-16 Results -- Pro FC, Legend FC, Dream, RITC, and Shark Fights Cap Big Weekend!!!

We just came off of what was probably the biggest non-Zuffa MMA weekend in recent months. Start-up promo Pro FC made headlines in Canada. Legend FC made noise, staging their fifth event in China -- their first in Macau. Meanwhile, Rage in the Cage belted three new champions, Dream posted a successful event in the midst of a slew of obstacles, and Shark Fights made their mark in Dallas.

*   *   *

Chris Clements defeated Travis Briere to win
the PFC WW Title. [Source]
PFC makes an excellent first time impression! Looks like Canada might have another major player on the regional circuit!

Dwight Wakabayashi has the full PFC 1 Breakdown.
Professional Fighting Championships
PFC: Border Wars 1
July 16, 2011
Windsor Family Credit Union,
Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Clint Kingsbury def. Mitchell Kay via TKO (Punches) R3 4:40
Manny Alfaro def. Pete Brown via Decision (Unanimous)
Chad Laprise def. Andrew McInnes via TKO (Punches) R1 2:29
Brent Franczuz def. Andrew Cseh via Decision (Split)
John Fraser def. Chuck Mady via Submission (Triangle Choke) R1 2:01
Javier Torres def. Ali Mokdad via Decision (Split)

PFC Welterweight Championship Title Bout
Chris Clements def. Travis Briere via TKO (Spinning Back Kick) R2 0:31
PFC 1 post-fight press conference:

More results and feedback after the break.

*   *   *

Honggang Yao goes to work on Nam Jin Jo. Yao took home
the LFC Bantamweight Title. [Source]
Another big show promotion in the making! Legend FC is bringing Chinese MMA to the forefront of the international mixed martial arts scene. Now with new business partnerships, LFC is making it's mark in Asia and internationally.

Honggang Yao became the new Legend Bantamweight Champ with a decision win over Nam Jin Jo. Defending champion Rodney MacSwain lost the welterweight title after dropping a decision loss to Myung Ho Bae.

Legend Fighting Championship
July 16, 2011
City of Dreams Grand Hyatt Ballroom,
Cotai, Macau, China

Sung Ming Yen def. Vincent Siu via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) R1
Fransino Tirta def. Chengjie Wu via Decision (Unanimous)
Mark Striegl def. Yusuke Kawanago via Decision (Split)
Jingliang Li Alex Niu Decision (Unanimous)
Yui Chul Nam def. Rob Hill via TKO (Punches) R2 1:12

Legend FC Bantamweight Championship Title Bout
Honggang Yao def. Nam Jin Jo via Decision (Unanimous)

Legend FC Welterweight Championship Title Bout
Myung Ho Bae def. Rodney MacSwain via Decision (Unanimous)

Hit up MMAMadMan for the run down.

*   *   *

Hiroyuki Takaya goes to work on Kazuyuki Miyata to
defend the FW Title. [Source]
Despite injuries and other setbacks, Dream did manage to get their BW GP event on its feet. Every bit of a success, especially considering the state of Japanese MMA.

Hiroyuki Takaya and Gegard Mousasi retained titles in the featherweight and light heavyweight divisions, respectively, and Hideo Tokoro defeated Masakazu Imanari to win the Dream - 2011 Japan Bantamweight Tournament.

Dream 17
Dream 2011 Japan Bantamweight Tournament Final
July 16, 2011
Ariake Coliseum,
Tokyo, Japan

Dream Featherweight Championship Title Bout
Hiroyuki Takaya def. Kazuyuki Miyata via split decision

Japan Bantamweight Tournament Final Bout
Hideo Tokoro def. Masakazu Imanari via unanimous decision

Dream Light-heavyweight Championship Title Bout
Gegard Mousasi def. Hiroshi Izumi via TKO (strikes) R1 3:28

Tatsuya Kawajiri def. Drew Fickett via TKO (strikes) R1 4:41

Japan Bantamweight Tournament Consolation Bout
Kenji Osawa def. Keisuke Fujiwara via unanimous decision

Tatsuya Mizuno def. Trevor Prangley via KO (knee strike) R1 4:41
Marius Zaromskis def. Eiji Ishikawa via unanimous decision
Eiji Mitsuoka def. Bruno Carvalho via unanimous decision

*   *   *

Rage in the Cage carries on their long tradition of lengthy cards. This 12-bout ticket brought forth the usual fireworks that RITC is well known for.

Take Notice: only 1 decision on the pro card for RITC 153! Three new Rage in the Cage champions were crowned.

Rage in the Cage
RITC 153
July 16, 2011
Wild Horse Pass Casino,
Chandler, Arizona

Bobby Tinney def. Jamielee Toyota via TKO (Punches) R1 2:39
Chris Kirk def. Mike Melki via TKO (Punches) R1 1:09
Jimmy Scully def. William Cerrone via TKO (Punches) R1 0:18
Aaron Caryl def. Johnie Camara via TKO (Punches) R3 0:49
Justin Bereche def. Richard Ysaguirre via TKO (Punches) R1 2:12
Brian Orr def. Vincent Wilson via KO (Punch) R1 0:08
Arthur Ortega def. Steve Pesqueira via TKO (Punches) R1 1:16
Dan Charles def. Nick Leitermann via TKO (Punches) R1 1:26
Roe Harris def. Rudy Aguilar via TKO (Punches) R1 0:13

RITC Lightweight Championship Title Bout
Chris Gruetzemacher def. Jeff Fletcher via TKO (Punches) R2 2:41

RITC Bantamweight Championship Title Bout
Anthony Birchak def. Carlos Ortega via Decision (Unanimous)

RITC Welterweight Championship Title Bout
Eddie Battross def. Jamie Schmidt via KO (Punch) R1 1:38

*   *   *

Shark Fights may have a future in the Dallas-
Fort Worth Metroplex. Many other promotions
have had limited success in this part of the country.
Shark Fights ventured into the Dallas-Fort Worth area for the first time to deliver their 17th event. Jake Rosholt avenged a November 2010 loss to Matt Horwich and Ricco Rodriguez extended his win streak to 11 with a submission win over round 1 victory over Doug Williams.

SF 17 - Horwich vs. Rosholt 2
Shark Fights
July 15, 2011
Dr. Pepper Arena,
Frisco, Texas

Jake Rosholt def. Matt Horwich via unanimous decision.
Ricco Rodriguez def. Doug Williams by submission (Rear-Naked Choke) R1 2:16
Emanuel Newton def. Ilir Latifi via unanimous decision
Erik Perez def. Douglas Frey via unanimous decision
Alan Jouban def. Andrew Goldthwaite via TKO (punches) R3 2:37
Victor Hernandez def. Quaint Kempf via submission (arm bar) R1:06
Matt Hobar def. Jay Flores via submission (Rear-Naked Choke) R1 1:55

No comments:

Post a Comment